Mashes Cricket Match


Welcome to the 2nd annual Telstra m-Ashes Cricket Match brought to you by Phonenomena. This is your chance to contribute to a long standing rivalry between two sporting and mobile technology driven countries.

Can you step up to the plate for your nation?

2013 Winners: Australia

2014 Winners:   Rest of the World*

2015 Winners:   ???

* 2014 match was Indoor


When: 12pm – 5pm, Thursday March 27

Where: Reg Bartley Oval, Rushcutters Bay.  After match prize giving and refreshments at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters bay for players.

Weather Note: Match will need to be postponed if raining. Notice will be given prior



Captain: Rodney Cox

ENGLAND (and rest of world)

Captain: Vince Bates



Check Out This Year’s Photos! 


Mashes Cricket Rules

Umpires hold 100% discretion in the mashes cricket match.  Umpires retain the right to incur run penalties for any matter they deem deserving, including but not limited to time wasting, umpire abuse, poor sledging, poor fielding, bad coordination, poor dress, lack of participation and any uncricket-like behavior.  Umpires decisions are final and cannot be disputed.



One innings per side, each innings limited to a maximum of 20 overs. The number of overs and duration will be decided on upon the day based on timing and at the discretion of the umpires.

Teams have the allotted time to bowl either a maximum of 20 or the agreed number of overs.

If all batsmen are out before the total overs are complete, the batting team can start battering again from the first batsmen  i.e ensuring the total number of overs are played.  The batting order cannot be changed.

If the second innings is cut short for any reason the total runs for the first team’s innings will be totaled up until the equivalent overs to ensure the same amount of overs were faced by each team.


A team’s net run rate is calculated by the total runs scored less any penalties.

Power Play Hit – Triple Scores

Each batsmen may nominate one ball (in advance) to be their power play hit.  They need to raise a hand and bat before the bowler starts to run and get the umpires acknowledgement in advance of a power play hit. It is up to the batter to remember to make a power play.

Underarm Bowling

An under-arm bowling scores a 5 run penalty for the bowler’s team.

Short Pitched Bowling

No more than 2 short pitched balls are allowed per over. Each ball in excess of 2 will score 1 run for the batting team.

Wides & No Balls – Free Hit

A wide and no ball provide the next ball to be a free hit for the batter. Meaning they cannot be scored out unless run out. No extra balls in the over will apply.


Politically correct, non-swear word sledging is encouraged.  Inappropriate sledging may incur run penalties decided at the sole discretion of the umpires.  After 2 warnings any player may be banned from sledging for the duration of the game and subject to further run penalties.

Timed Out

If the umpire judges the incoming batsmen to be too slow getting to the crease (approx 1.5 minutes) the bowler may proceed to bowl a ball at the umpires signal. If the wickets are bowled a 5 run penalty will apply.

Batsmen Time Wasting

Umpires are instructed to apply a strict interpretation of time-wasting by the batsman (five-run penalties). Specifically, batsmen are expected to be ready for the start of a new over as soon as the bowler is ready

Number of Overs per Bowler

Each bowler may bowl a maximum of four overs. In a delayed or interrupted match, no bowler may bowl more than one fifth of the total overs allowed unless such a number has been exceeded before the interruption.

The Result

Each side must have played for the same amount of overs and/or the same duration of time depending on the umpires decision.

Restrictions on the Placement of Fieldsmen

Fielding restrictions may apply for the first or last 4 overs of each innings. Fielding restrictions will be announced by the Umpires on the day.

Over-Rate Penalties

The six-run penalty for each over not bowled will apply. In reduced over matches, the fielding side has one over’s leeway in addition to any time that the Umpires may allow for stoppages.

Draw – Bowl Out

In the case of a draw the winner will be decided by a bowl-out. 5 bowlers are chosen from each team to each bowl one ball at an empty wicket.  The team with the maximum number of wickets bowled wins. In the case of no wickets bowled each team gets another 3 bowls each until a winner is decided.